top of page

Preparing for your photo session

So, now that you have found a great photographer and you planned your brand photography session you need to start preparing for your session.

Some of this advice I have learned from personal mistakes during my own personal brand photo session and I want to help you avoid making the same mistakes.

Study photos of yourself.

What photos do you love of yourself and why do you love them?

What photos do you hate of yourself and why do you hate them?

What features about your body do you want to hide or highlight?

Talk to your photographer about this and show them examples. This step can make a huge difference between getting photos that you love and use and getting photos that you hate.

Study posing.

In preparation for my own photo session, I did not study posing. I'm a photographer after all, I know how to pose, right? It is so different being in front of the camera though and I am not natural in front of the camera AT ALL.

I wish I had studied photos of myself and studied posing myself so that I would have more photos that I love from my photo session.

Try looking up videos on YouTube, ask your photographer for suggestions, or practice in front of a mirror in preparation.

Make a list.

I LOVE lists!

Somehow, I failed to make a list of what I needed to bring with me on the day of my photo session and I forgot to bring one of my props. This was really frustrating to me because I needed that prop to tell a story and I had to make do without it.

Prepare your social media and blog posts in advance.

If you prepare your posts ahead of time you can make a list of exactly what photos you need for which platform so that you get all the photos you need from your photo session. And share that list with your photographer.

After spending all this time in preparation the last thing you want to do is forget to get a photo that you will need in a few days.

Also, think ahead of all your photo needs for the next few months - marketing, launches, speaking engagements, etc...

Benjamin Franklin said, “If you fail to plan, you are planning to fail."

Make your photo session a huge success by planning and preparing for it.

If you prefer to listen to a video on this subject check out my YouTube video below.

bottom of page